Forever…

It’s hard to imagine that birth and death can occur in the same breath.

As a mother, the thought of it virtually rips my heart out so I try not to think about it at all.

For families dealing with the loss of a baby before, during or after birth, though, it’s hard to think of anything else. Climbing out of the depths of grief seems impossible, and for those around them it’s often difficult to figure out what to do to help. At least, that’s how I’ve felt when friends and acquaintances of mine have experienced early infant loss – lost and feeling unable to do anything worthwhile to ease their pain.

It’s so important to remember and to celebrate the beautiful babies who are only with us for a short time, and through my role as an affiliated photographer with Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep I am able to provide professional remembrance portraiture free of charge to families who are suffering a most unimaginable loss.

Yes, it’s hard. Awful, in fact. But also, such a gift to be able to give these families what are often their most precious tangible memories of their angel babies.

After over a year of working with NILMDTS, I’m only now talking about it here…inspired by the day of hope. Today is a day of hope for many families, and when I came across that site I was reminded that I’d never posted about this service on my own blog.

~ by nicolebakerphotography on August 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
